Love & Compassion

Sankrit: Anahata (ah-NAH-hah-tah)

Location: Heart/Center of chest

Color: Green

Secondary Color: Pink

Right: To Love

Planets: Venus

Element: Air

Sense: Touch

Shape/Number: Octahedron/12

Note/Sound: F/Yam

Endocrine Gland: Thymus-produces T-lymphocytes that protect a person from pathogens from birth and for the rest of their life.

Body: Heart, lungs, circulatory system, immune system, arms, and hands

Balanced/Open Chakra: When your heart chakra is balanced you have a love for yourself and understand that you must love yourself to love others. You have compassion for all things around you. You are open to feeling compassion for others and people feel at peace around you. You accept others for who they are. You are forgiving with the understanding that everyone has their own process. You aren't critical or judgemental but rather nuturing. You radiate unconditional love. You share deep bonds with others. You are kind, caring, joyous, and at peace.

Underactive: When your heart chakra is underactive you find it hard to give or recieve love and seem distant and cold. You are very protective of your feelings. You usually think negatively towards people and things. You have a hard time having a positive outlook on life. You feel unloved and unappreciated from others and self. It's hard for you to believe others can be compassionate and you may shut down from the ability to heal for fear of being hurt.

Overactive: When you heart chakra is overactive you love with conditions. Loving someone is mostly about your own wants and desires. You may be manipulative. You make decisions and are ruled by grief, anger, sadness, resentment, despair, and/or greed and may find yourself cycling in hurtful patterns. You tend to form co-dependent relationships and have a hard time letting go of situations that no longer serve any higher good. You are a people pleaser, always giving and most likely not recieving for fear of being disliked or unloved. 

Physical Symptoms: Heart problems, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, heart murmurs, congestive heart failure, heart attack, stroke, blood issues, anemia, leukemia, pneumonia, bronchitis, flu, excess mucus, emphysema, asthma, lung cancer, breast cancer


     The Heart Chakra governs our ability to love self and others, be forgiving, compassionate and move through hurt and pain. It opens us to generosity, altruism, selflessness, kindness, and respect. The heart chakra is the source of wholeness and healing- love is the ultimate force of healing. One of the most important qualities about this chakra is that it is the connector or bridge between the lower three chakras, the material, and the upper three chakras, the spiritual. It represents the balance. It stimulates the flow of energy and is an important factor in chakra health. This chakra being off balance is a large contributor to the number one killers such as blood pressure, heart attack, stroke, and breast cancer. Holding on to grief and anger is a lead to these illnesses. 

Everyone has experienced hurt at some point in their life, either by parents, friends, or a significant other, or by a loss they have encountered. It's almost impossible to avoid being hurt, but how you handle such grievances can make the difference between a closed or open chakra. You can choose to let go of anger and grief with the understanding that things people seem to do to hurt us are not always personal but an extension of their own pain experienced before you. "Hurt people hurt people". Being open to this understanding opens you to compassion, love, and understanding, which opens your heart to new experiences and new people. Holding on to hurt and negative feelings blocks you from opportunities to love and you will find yourself "stuck" until you accept those feelings and let them go. 

To learn to have empathy and compassion for someone else is allowing yourself to walk in their shoes, experiencing a circumstance the way they would have. It is taking your personal feelings out of a situation and understanding it from a point of view other than your own. Yet when someone has hurt us or offended us, it becomes hard to do. However everyone has a story that has made them the way they are. Learn to forgive and move on from painful situations in your life. To recieve love you must learn to give love. Simple things you can do to give love; smile at everyone you see. A genuine smile from a stranger can do so much to a person having a bad day. Let go of grudges, life is too short. Give friends positive affirmations and feedback. Learn how not to criticize others including yourself. Learn and grow through painful experiences and be compassionate towards others suffering.

How to Balance

There are several things you can do to bring your heart chakra into balance. In meditation you can visualize being eveloped in bright green light. You can visualize a ball of green light or a green lotus flower spinning at the center of your chest. You can apply Love Heart Chakra Oil over your heart chakra during meditation and inhale the aroma of essential oils that resonate with the heart chakra. You can burn green candles. You can chant it's seed sound YAM in the key of F. Being that it's element is air, you can sit outside and allow yourself to feel the breeze on your skin. Breathe in fresh air. For nutrition it is important to eat green leafy vegetables such as kale, spinach, and lettuce to keep the heart chakra system healthy. You can also incorporate other foods and herbs such as squash, celery, cabbage, basil, thyme, sage, parsley, and cilantro to name a few.

Affirmations for the Heart Charkra:

  • I love myself
  • I am worthy of love
  • I open myself to forgive others that hurt me
  • I am open to loving others unconditionally
  • I forgive myself
  • I am loved
  • I open myself to recieve love
  • I allow healing into my heart
  • I let go of pain and grief
  • I let go of anger 
  • I let go of grudges
  • I accept moving forward
  • I am a source of healing in the world

Listening to sounds that resonate with the heart chakra can bring it into balance. It can also be used to balance and cleanse the resonating heart chakra crystals. For crystals that help balance the heart chakra, refer back to the crystal guide.